On May 8, 2020, Virginia Governor Ralph Northam issued Executive Order 61 outlining Phase One of the commonwealth’s plan to gradually ease temporary public health and business restrictions related to COVID-19, effective May 15, 2020, through at least June 10, 2020. Since issuing Executive Order 61, however, Governor Northam issued Executive Order 62 delaying this reopening for the following jurisdictions through at least May 28, 2020: the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William, the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, Manassas Park, and the Towns of Dumfries, Herndon, Leesburg, and Vienna. The order stated that the Northern Virginia region has about a 25-percent rate of positive tests for COVID-19, while the rest of the commonwealth is closer to 10 percent. In addition, just hours before reopening was set to take effect, Governor Northam amended Executive Order 62 to also exclude the City of Richmond and the County of Accomack from the May 15 reopening.

The Executive Orders outline the following Phase One requirements for Virginia (except for the excluded counties):
Continue Reading Virginia update: Governor loosens pandemic restrictions, except in Northern Virginia, Richmond City, and Accomack County